March 9, 2007

  • As a human, and especially as a girl...I seek satisfaction. That is the way that God created us. In His wisdom, He created us with that empty space within our hearts that seeks to be filled, but that only can be truly satisfied with Christ. It's been described as a cup. Each of us has a cup that needs to be filled, and so we walk around throughout our day, going from person to person, place to place, food to food asking for something to be placed into our cup. Some "things" will satisfy, but nothing will fill with an everlasting fulfillment, apart from what is found and filled up in our heavenly Father.

    On one particular day this week, I was doing great. I was tight with the Lord, people seemed to like me, I felt happy with myself...and then, at the drop of an unforseen hat, everything changed, and I was suddenly strickingly aware of my empty cup, and how suddenly nobody seemed interested in filling it. I immediately had a major mood/attitude swing, started getting depressed, and oh, did I feel unloved and regected. I looked at the people around me, and by the grace of God, I identified the moment of crisis as "Empty-Cup-Needing-To-Be-Filled Syndrom" and so, trying to remain cheerful and keep a positive outlook but utterly failing, I seperated myself from them, and went to a room all by myself. Alright, I thought to myself, since being around people right now will cause me to want to go to them for affermation, I will go and spend time with God. But, I confess, I secluded myself more with the attitude of having a "righteous pout" all by myself and God, than to truly seek His satisfaction!

    With a sigh, I sat on a couch, and pulled out the bible study book that us team girls are doing with our revivalist's wife, Andrea and which has had a powerful impact on all of our lives, not the least of which being my own life. "Ok, God, I feel unloved right now. Let's fill 'er up" was my thoughts as I opened to that day's chapter. And it was titled:

    "Overcoming Feeling Unloved."

    Ok, God. You've got my full and complete attention now!

Comments (3)

  • Wow, that is awesome! He is so faithful! Hope you're doing well! Have a fantastic day! Love you, Kel!

    ~Elaine

  • HEY...havent heard from yall in a while i figured that i would send you a comment! hope that yall are doing ok, and having fun! well hope to hear from you! later
    JOSH

  • Amen! I know the feeling.  Say, you'll never guess what I've started collecting... on a minor scale, of course. You know that little spot in my kitchen under the rounded counter. I knew that I couldn't ever put any nice breakable things there so I put some stuffed animals there. Well, they looked so cute that I had to get some more. I think I have 12 now. Mostly bears.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories